

POSITIVELY POULTRY.

For Immediate Release

Contact Jean Bryland, jbryland@ncpoultry.org
Date: August 15, 2014

Governor Pat McCrory and Tyson CEO Donnie Smith Guests of NC Poultry Federation's Annual Meeting

GREENSBORO, NC...The Grandover Resort & Conference Center was venue for North Carolina Poultry Federation's 2014 Annual Meeting, which included an Awards Presentation Banquet featuring a conversation with North Carolina's Governor Pat McCrory. Gov. McCrory and NCPF Past President Scott Prestage engaged in a relaxed question-answer format before the 200 members and dinner guests of the Poultry Federation.

The keynote address was given by Donnie Smith, President and CEO of Tyson Foods, Inc. Smith accompanied his speech with a slide presentation. The Honorable Howard Coble, whose elected tenure has spanned 30 years in the US House of Representatives, was presented the NCPF Distinguished Service Award. NTF President Joel Brandenberger presented the award to Mr. Coble. Outgoing NCPF president Dan Peugh presented the Grower Environmental Award to Andy and Joy Herring of Andy Herring Farms in Dunn, NC. The Herrings are producers for Prestage Farms. First Finalist was Edward Maness of Pine Bark Farm in Candor--a producer for Perdue Foods. Accepting the award for Mr. Maness were his managers, Andrea and Danny VonCannon. Assistant Commissioner of Agriculture Joe Reardon helped present the Grower Environmental Awards.

2014-15 Board Members were elected during the conference. The Executive Board is made up of Jeff Hancock of Tyson Foods, who will serve as President; 1st VP Ronnie Parker of Circle-S-Ranch; 2nd VP Jeff Stalls of Perdue Farms; Secty/Treasurer Neal Walsh of Butterball; and Past President Scott Prestage of Prestage Farms.

Board Members for 2014-15 include: Chandler Adams representing the Carolina Feed Industry Assn., David Anderson of Butterball, Jeff Beavers of Mountaire Farms, Andrew Boyles of Tyson Foods, Trey Braswell of Braswell Foods, John Brinn of Rose Acre Farms, Kendall Casey of Perdue Farms, Tommy Furlough of Cal-Maine Foods, Todd Huneycutt of Huneycutt Brothers Farm, Dr. Alice Johnson of Butterball, Bob Johnson of House of Raeford, Cowan Johnson of House of Raeford, Terry Maness of Perdue Farms, Paul Nordin of Wayne Farms, Connie Ozment of Valley Proteins, Tommy Porter of Porter Farms, Charles Rigdon of Case Farms, Tommy Robertson of Sanderson Farms, Joe Steed representing the Breeder Hatchery Assn., Mark Whitt of International Paper, and Richard Williams of Pilgrims.

Since 1968 the North Carolina Poultry Federation, a trade association, has represented the poultry industry in North Carolina. Serving producers and processors of chicken, turkey, and egg products, the Federation provides a united voice for the industry with government, media, and the general public. Headquarters are located in Raleigh, NC.

###



Governor Pat McCrory speaking at NCPF Annual Mtg.



Donnie Smith, President & CEO of Tyson Foods, Inc.



L to R: Howard Coble being presented NCPF Distinguished Service Award from NTF President Joel Brandenberger.



L to R: Dan Peugh, Andy Herring, Joe Reardon. Herring receiving Grower Environmental Excellence Award.



L to R: Incoming NCPF President Jeff Hancock and outgoing President Dan Peugh

North Carolina Poultry Federation

4020 Barrett Drive, Suite 102 / Raleigh, NC 27609

Phone: 919-783-8218 / Fax: 919-783-8220 / www.ncpoultry.org